top of page

TonyWatchesMovies Video Game Review: COD Black Ops 4: 5 out of 10

I have to say that I'm a little biased when it comes to this review, since I've been on a bit of a multiplayer kick recently. For what seems like the longest time, I've been playing the heck out of my adventure games like Spiderman and Hollow Knight, but in the past week or so I've been playing the shit out of my online games. Don't know why.


TonyWatchesMovies Score: 5 out of 10


The multiplayer was pretty standard, save for a couple additions. Normally, I'd get bored of it fairly quickly, but because I've been on this run of multiplayer games I powered through the first 25 levels within a long evening. There have been a lot of little fixes that they've made to the whole experience, and the stuff you earn from completing challenges is a lot cooler than in previous iterations of Call of Duty, which is nice. Also, I really enjoy the fact that health doesn't automatically regenerate, that makes the game actually tense and exciting. Fancy that.


Let's talk about Blackout, or more commonly known by gamers as Call of Duty's Battle Royale mode. I've been pretty awful at battle royale modes, ever since Fortnite. I learned to love it when H1Z1 came out and my cousin taught me how to do it, and now that I've played Blackout in Black Ops 4 I feel like I can make a fair judgement. It's good. You get the rush of trying to survive either alone or with friends, but all with the seamless playing feel that Call of Duty has mastered for years now. You don't need the high tier weapons to survive a firefight, which is something that bothered me about Fortnite and H1Z1, and having the ability to pick up weapon attachments and load up your gun with the stuff you want is by far the most fun part of Blackout. I can add whatever sights I want for it, along with whatever attachments I might need (if I find them, of course). I also love the fact that they reused old COD maps jammed together to make the whole map, and the moment I realized that as I ran around the asylum from an old Zombies map was by far the most fun I'd ever had.


There are some things that I do think bring the experience down a bit. Firstly, finding the airdrops is a fucking nightmare. Unlike H1Z1 where there's a beam of light that stretches all the way into the sky or an icon on your minimap, the airdrops just have a little stream of smoke that you can barely see. Throughout the course of my Blackout experience, I've only ever found one airdrop, and that's not a joke. Also, the RTE system for health and weapons is a little screwy, since sometimes I find a ton of weapons and ammo and other times I can't find a damn thing and I end up running around with my tail between my legs as I'm dodging gunfire with just a sliver of health. Ech.


All in all, meh. I can't wait to spend $50.00 on micropayments when they finally come out.


Cheers,




-TonyWatchesMovies

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

 

 FOLLOW Tonywatchesmovies: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page