top of page

TonyWatchesMovies Game Review: Hellblade Senua's Sacrifice: 9 out of 10

THIS GAME IS INCREDIBLE. I have never been so engrossed in a game from beginning to end than I was with Senua's Sacrifice, and how I know that is because I started the game at around 10 PM and at 5:30 AM the next morning I realized that I had to take a piss for like 2 hours and my eyes were killing me. Not to mention that every single noise in my apartment made me jump even though the sun was out.


TonyWatchesMovies Score; 9 out of 10


For a game that is labeled as simply "action", this game should have its own category; Psychological Brutal Action-Thriller-Adventure-Horror. Rarely does a game wear so many hats successfully, because most game developers believe that the standard consumer's head would explode it they tried to introduce more than one concept into a game. In fact, the complete opposite is true, yet you can tell how much the industry cares about story because this game was only about $30.00 where fucking Titanfall was a full $60.00.

What terrifies you the most? Ghosts? Demons? Alien monsters that lay eggs in your stomach that burst out later? That is all pretty whitewashed when compared to the HUMAN MIND. That's right, your brain is capable of creating vivid auditory and visual hallucinations without your control, and that to me is terrifying in a ton of ways, partly because my brain already tells me that little sounds in my apartment are homicidal murderers. With Senua's Sacrifice, you're constantly wondering if what you're seeing is real or not, and the question I kept having was "am I killing demons or is Senua actually killing REAL people whilst believing that she's killing demons? What if she's walking through her own destruction thinking that she didn't do it?" It really shows the immersion when you find yourself wondering about the plot when you're playing. Most of the time you go, "oh well he's going to be the bad guy, she's going to get captured so I'm gonna save her, I'll fight a boss and the game is over".


While the combat can get repetitive, it isn't a deal-breaker. The gaming and film industry has kind of made fighting a little bland, like you need something completely different from normal fighting to get your engine revved nowadays. In this game, the combat is pretty standard, yet you still get a feel for the brutality of it from both how weighty your sword feels as well as the player and NPC movement. The puzzles are really what makes this game shine. I'm not going to spoil it, but I'm just saying, they were a HUGE highlight to the game as a whole.


Buy it, it's cheap, but it's REALLY good.


Cheers,




-Tony WatchesMovies


 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

 

 FOLLOW Tonywatchesmovies: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page